to begin . . .

10Feb10

The beginning of anything is always scary.  Change is enticing but also a bit alarming  – we do not know what the path will be, what the answers are, if it is right for us.

Maybe this is why I have taken almost a month to begin writing.  I have entered these thoughts, these blogs, in my mind daily.  Repeatedly I found myself authoring the thoughts in my head that I wanted to put to the keyboard, but I stalled.  I was scared.

Of what?  The uncertainty of my emotions.

I want to document my journey through the next few months, but, even as I get ready to publish this first post, I still don’t know what that means.  Do I want to write as the mother that I am and depict the daily trials and comedic errors that surround me?  Would it be funny?  Sad?  Sane?  Am I willing to allow others to see my vulnerabilities as a parent?

I struggled as the Marine Corps wife that I am and am not – I want to travel down the path of “this is what my life is like as a pseudo single parent while my spouse is out there saving the world” – but can I?  I am not sure that discussion along those lines really reflects who I am.

I want to create something memorable – for me.  I want an outlet for my brain that isn’t about work, or kids, the laundry or the school board.  Yet, if I write, I know it will be about none of this and all of this.

I am afraid of the expectations I have of myself.  I am afraid of the expectations that I’ve yet to set.  I am afraid of doing too much and of doing too little.  I am afraid of critique and praise.  In short, I am scared of the beginning.

And yet, I couldn’t put it away.  The thoughts still wrote themselves.  The need to do something still lingered even when I told myself to stop – and so the journey begins. I will figure out the details and the direction as I write.

But for the moment, I am feeling brave.

8 Responses to “to begin . . .”

  1. 1 Jennifer Mihaly

    So glad you are doing this, it is very brave as everyone has mentioned. But thinking back to when I first met you, you have always seemed brave to me and never defeated & always up for the challenge. As for being stuck with you…those girls are so lucky and I am sure as they closed their eyes after being kissed goodnight by their mommy they knew it too! I cannot wait to read more and I am very glad to see I am not the only person walking around “journalling” in my head! 🙂 love you, stay warm.

  2. 2 Jessica Bradshaw

    As I’m reading, I find myself wanting more. I love to hear whats going on in that brain of yours. You’re brilliant, you’re brave, and you have a beautiful soul. I hope you know that. Write on…

  3. 3 Lisa Pagano

    So proud of you for doing this!

  4. 4 Kim B

    Woopee! I am ready to read….about any and all of it.

  5. 5 Lauri

    I am ready to read…go for it. We can take any Amy you want to give us.

  6. 6 Page Owens

    CHEERS to you!!!!!! Here’s to a new beginning and a whole new Amy:) oxox

  7. Amazing Amy! Thanks for sharing this. You have an amazing writing voice. Can’t wait to read more. Love you bunches!

  8. 8 Amy Hoffman

    I love you and am glad you are blogging! You are brave,and an excellent writer. So forge ahead and be strong and very courageous!

    Hugs to you!


What are your thoughts? Let's get the conversation started.

